Saturday, March 22, 2014
iCloud: A Cheater's Nightmare
Apple released iCloud for , PC and iOS5 devices this week and after only a few days, millions of users have already started using the service. However two features of the new iCloud service could cause big problems for anyone cheating or otherwise doing things they might not ought to be doing.
With iCloud, when you take a photo on one device, it automatically appears on all your other devices. No syncing. No sending. Your photos are just there. Everywhere you want them.
Every picture snapped on your iPhone or iPad are automatically streamed to every other iPhone, iPad, or Mac configured with the same iCloud account. A photo taken on your iPhone at the bar at 2am will near-instantly appear on your computer at home or on the iPhone of your spouse trying to text-message you asking what you're doing
You read that right: Once you take a picture, it will automatically be added into your Photo Stream and once that happens you cannot delete it. Every pictures is stored on the Photo Stream for 30 days, or until you take over 1000 pictures, whichever comes first.
**Update for iOS 6: You can now delete pictures from your photostream, but only on the device you are deleting it from (it stays on the other device's Photostream)
Another new feature of iOS5 is a free app called "Find Friends". Similar to the Find My of iCloud, Find Friends allows you to invite people to follow you wherever you go. Once you give authorization to allow someone to follow you, they will know where you are 24/7, without any notice. Scorned lovers across the globe may already be secretly inviting and authorizing themselves (without the knowledge of the phone-owner, if they have access to the phone) to track their cheating husband or wife and every step they take.